Moorland protection is also species protection.

Biodiversity – saving habitats.

An irreplaceable home for unique inhabitants.

You’d never know that intact moorland is such a climate-protecting hero just by looking at it. The carbon-rich peat below the surface remains hidden from view. What immediately catches the eye, however, is the rich, extraordinary flora and fauna that thrive in these special places. After all, many of the plants and animals that live in moorlands are just as unique as the conditions there. As home to highly specialised biocenoses, moorlands play a key role in maintaining the biodiversity – in other words, the original ecological diversity – of our environment. By protecting and renaturalising moorlands, we save countless endangered animal and plant species from extinction.

Ecosystems.

Intact moors offer their inhabitants extreme living conditions. Many rare animal and plant species have become expert residents in these low-nutrient, low-oxygen biotopes and have formed unique communities (biocenoses) over the course of thousands of years.

Plant life.

Characteristic plant species in raised bogs include cotton grass, sundew and the common cranberry. Another typical feature of moors is peat moss, which can store many times its own mass of water and can thus protect its surroundings from flooding or drying out.

Wildlife.

Whether mosaic darners, moor frogs or common snipes, those who live in the moorlands are often just as endangered as the habitat itself. Countless rare amphibians depend on the biotope and for many bird species, it is one of the few undisturbed resting and breeding grounds remaining.

Supported projects.

Das Lichtenmoor mit Bagger.

Lichtenmoor.

Bog rosemary, cranberry, the cranberry blue butterfly and a hefty amount of carbon dioxide – the Lichtenmoor moorland near Nienburg/Weser is home to all of this and much more. This is the way it should stay – and flourish.

Theikenmeer.

Here, in one of Germany’s oldest nature reserves, active moorland protection only began in 1977. Since the foundation of our collaboration with NABU in 2009, however, we’ve been making progress all the faster.

Moorschutz ist auch Artenschutz.

Biodiversität – Lebensräume retten.

Ein unersetzliches Zuhause für einzigartige Bewohner.

Seine klimaschützende Funktion sieht man einem intakten Moor nicht an. Der kohlenstoffreiche Torf im Untergrund bleibt vor Blicken verborgen. Was dagegen sofort ins Auge fällt: die reiche, außergewöhnliche Flora und Fauna an diesen ganz speziellen Orten. Denn viele der im Moor lebenden Pflanzen und Tiere sind genauso einzigartig wie die Bedingungen hier. Als Heimat hochspezialisierter Lebensgemeinschaften leisten Moore einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Biodiversität, also zur ursprünglichen ökologischen Vielfalt, unserer Umwelt. Indem wir Moore schützen und renaturieren, bewahren wir zahlreiche bedrohte Tier- und Pflanzenarten vor dem Aussterben.

Ökosysteme.

Intakte Moore bieten ihren Bewohnern extreme Lebensbedingungen. Viele seltene Tier- und Pflanzenarten haben sich auf die sehr nähr- und sauerstoffarmen Biotope spezialisiert und dort im Laufe von Jahrtausenden einzigartige Lebensgemeinschaften (Biozönosen) gebildet.

Pflanzenwelt.

Charakteristisch für Hochmoore sind zum Beispiel das Scheiden-Wollgras, der Sonnentau oder die Gewöhnliche Moosbeere. Auch typisch Moor: die Torfmoose, die ein Vielfaches ihrer eigenen Masse an Wasser speichern und ihre Umgebung so vor Überflutung oder Austrocknung schützen können.

Tierwelt.

Ob Hochmoor-Mosaikjungfer, Moorfrosch oder Bekassine – wer im Moor lebt, ist häufig ebenso stark gefährdet wie das Habitat selbst. Zahlreiche seltene Amphibien sind auf das Biotop angewiesen, viele Vögel finden nur noch hier ungestörte Rast- oder Brutmöglichkeiten.

Geförderte Projekte.

Das Lichtenmoor mit Bagger.

Das Lichtenmoor.

Rosmarinheide, Moosbeere, Hochmoorbläuling und jede Menge Kohlendioxid – das und vieles mehr versteckt sich im Lichtenmoor bei Nienburg (Weser). Das soll auch so bleiben und vor allem wieder mehr werden.

Das Theikenmeer.

In einem der ältesten Schutzgebiete Deutschlands begann der aktive Moorschutz erst 1977. Dafür kommen wir seit Beginn unserer Kooperation mit dem NABU 2009 umso schneller voran.